Our People


Our Chief Executive

Create was born from the vision Nicky had in December 2002 of a charity that would use the creative arts to empower lives and enhance wellbeing. She is motivated by her longing for a fair, caring, inclusive society in which every individual can fulfil their potential.

Prior to co-founding the charity in July 2003, she was Chief Executive of the Orchestra of St John’s. She has extensive experience in creative arts management, before which she was a Marketing Executive at KPMG. She was a volunteer Childline Counsellor for five years before becoming a Samaritan in January 2002; was on the YouthXpress leadership team at Southwark Cathedral between 2007 and 2017, where she worked with young people aged 11-18; was Trustee/Vice Chair of the Queen’s Nursing Institute from 2009-2019; and has been a Trustee of Wales Millennium Centre since 2018. Nicky has a First Class BSc (Hons) in Marketing (with arts) and the Chartered Institute of Marketing Diploma. In 2013, she completed a Certificate in History of Art at Birkbeck College, University of London, for which she was awarded Distinction.

Our Staff

Our Ambassador

  • Alistair DK Johnston CMG

Our Youth Ambassador

Our Trustees

  • John Broadis, Retired Head Teacher
  • Tony Cates, Vice Chair and Partner, KPMG UK (retired)
  • Eddie Donaldson OBE (Chair), Business Adviser
  • Tim Jones, Private Investor and Director
  • Holly Khan, Composer/Facilitator
  • Marit Meyer-Bell, Head of Communications, Travis Perkins plc
  • Vanessa Sharp (Company Secretary), Solicitor, Non-Executive Director, Jeweller
  • Paul Thimont (Treasurer), CFO, White Cube
  • Carol Topolski, Writer

Our Creative Council

  • James Baldwin, Actor and Playwright
  • John Broadis (Chair), Retired Head Teacher
  • Alicia Clarke, Photographer
  • Chloe Cooper, Visual Artist
  • Holly Khan, Composer/Facilitator
  • Amy Leung, Visual Artist
  • Mike Poyser, Musician

Our Development Council

  • Libby Bassett, Business Development Consultant, former KPMG partner
  • Jonny Breeze, Founder and Director, Yellow Cat Recruitment
  • Tony Cates (Chair), Vice Chair and Partner, KPMG UK (retired)
  • Harry Charlton, Chief Executive at Seven Bedford Row
  • Whitney Gore, Director, Business & Legal Affairs, Original Series, Netflix
  • Natalie Graeme, Founder of Uncommon Creative Studio
  • Hayley Granston, Commercial and Partnerships Director, formerly Beano, Hearst and BBC
  • Sara Putt, MD/Agent, Sara Putt Associates
  • Mark Sismey-Durrant, Non-Executive Director, Immediate Past Master of Worshipful Company of International Bankers

Our Communications Council

  • Rishi Dastidar, Senior Writer, venturethree
  • Gem Fountain, Head of UX, Manifesto
  • Lisa Jedan, Vice President, Global Brand Communications, Bacardi
  • Paul Kemp-Robertson, Co-founder, Contagious
  • Marit Meyer-Bell (Chair), Head of Communications, Travis Perkins plc
  • Martin Shippen, PR Consultant
  • Jim Thornton, Deputy Executive Creative Director, VCCP
  • John Waterfield, Director Strategic Relationships, KPMG

Our Honorary Advisory Council

  • Sir Peter Estlin, 691st Lord Mayor of the City of London, City of London Alderman, Senior Advisor at Barclays Bank UK plc
  • Niko Falzarano, PA to Headteacher, School Governor with responsibility for Safeguarding
  • Tim Robertson, Chief Executive, The Anne Frank Trust UK
  • Colin Sheaf, Group Deputy Chairman, Bonhams 
  • Emily Stubbs, Director of Development, The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Join us 

Don't miss out! Sign up to our monthly newsletter to stay up to date with our work.